CRCL to honor coastal champions at annual Stewardship Awards


James Karst, Coalition to Restore Coastal Louisiana, 504.220.7899,

CRCL to honor coastal champions at annual Stewardship Awards
R. King Milling to receive Lifetime Achievement Award; special distinctions to be given for hurricane response  

The Coalition to Restore Coastal Louisiana will present a dozen awards this May at its 26th annual Coastal Stewardship Awards event in Baton Rouge, including special distinctions for R. King Milling and Morgan Crutcher, as well as awards recognizing people and organizations for their extraordinary work in the aftermath of Hurricanes Ida and Laura. Another award recipient is Charles Sutcliffe, who has led development of Louisiana’s groundbreaking Climate Action Plan. These champions of our coast will be recognized at an in-person event May 12 at the LSU Botanic Gardens.


Besides Milling, Crutcher and Sutcliffe, the other award winners are: Allie Johnson and Jacqueline Richard, volunteers of the year; Rosina Philippe, friend of CRCL; Cameron LNG, Hurricane Laura Award; Raegan Duplantis Creppell, Jonathan Foret, Melissa Martin and Genie Ardoin, Hurricane Ida Award; Matt Rookard, Hurricane Ida Award; Lucas Bissett, Chett Chiasson, Mark Hester and Amanda Moore, Stewardship Awards.


CRCL’s Coastal Stewardship Awards are among the most prestigious honors given to those who are working to ensure a thriving and sustainable Louisiana coast well into the future. The awards event last year was virtual because of the coronavirus pandemic. Winners from last year who have not yet received their awards will also be honored at the in-person event. They are: Laurie Cormier, the Meraux Charitable Foundation, Jacob Neu, John Nyman, Natalie Snider and Amy Wold.


“The restoration and protection of Louisiana’s coast is powered by individuals and leaders, and we are thrilled to be honoring them at our Coastal Stewardship Awards,” said Kim Reyher, executive director of CRCL. “Our state and its residents are well positioned to confront coastal land loss and climate change because of these stewards. These awards are richly deserved.”  


R. King Milling, a founding member of the CPRA Board of Directors and longtime chairman of America’s Wetlands Foundation who used his business and political clout to get elected officials to confront coastal land loss, will receive a Lifetime Achievement Award.


Morgan Crutcher, a former CRCL staffer who went on to work at CPRA and the Governor’s Office of Coastal Activities, is being recognized posthumously with a special award for community service by individuals who have dedicated their careers to coastal Louisiana.


Allie Johnson, a student at Patrick F. Taylor Science & Technology Academy who has worked on projects including tree planting and water testing, will receive the Student Award.


Jacqueline Richard, an associate professor at Fletcher Technical College who frequently volunteers to work on coastal restoration projects and has been a role model and mentor to many students, will receive the Volunteer of the Year Award.


Rosina Philippe, a leader of the Atakapa Ishak Chawasha Tribe of Grand Bayou Indian Village who has partnered with CRCL to build a reef that protects wetlands in Plaquemines Parish, has been named Friend of CRCL.


Cameron LNG, a liquification facility in Hackberry, Louisiana, that has restored coastal beach and wetlands and funded wildlife habitat restoration in Rockefeller Wildlife Refuge, will receive a Hurricane Laura Award.


Raegan Creppell, Jonathan Foret, Melissa Martin and Genie Ardoin helped directly deliver aid to hundreds of people affected by Hurricane Ida through the Helio Foundation and a digital fundraising effort. Creppell is executive director of the Helio Foundation. Foret is executive director of the South Louisiana Wetlands Discovery Center and president of the Helio Foundation Board of Directors. Ardoin is vice president of the Helio Foundation Board of Directors. Martin is chef at Mosquito Supper Club and the author of an acclaimed cookbook.  


Matt Rookard, the chief executive officer at the Terrebonne Economic Development Authority, helped to coordinate immediate needs to residents affected by Hurricane Ida, helping deliver temporary power, and worked to deliver charging stations and public wifi hot spots to the affected area. He will receive a Hurricane Ida Award.


The winners of Stewardship Awards are: Lucas Bissett, president of Anglers Bettering Louisiana’s Estuaries; Chett Chiasson, executive director of the Greater Lafourche Port Commission; Mark Hester, a biology professor at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette; Amanda Moore, Gulf program director at the National Wildlife Federation; and Charles Sutcliffe, the chief resilience officer for the state of Louisiana.


The winners of 2020 awards who will be honored this May are: Laurie Cormier, program coordinator and coastal zone manager for the Calcasieu Parish Police Jury’s Division of Planning and Development Grant Department; the Meraux Charitable Foundation, a supporter of and investor in coastal restoration for over a decade; Jacob Neu, who works for an engineering consulting firm on various projects related to the preserving the recreational use of Louisiana’s coastal areas; John Nyman, a professor in LSU’s School of Renewable Natural Resources who has published more than 80 journal articles addressing wetlands; Natalie Snider, associate vice president for EDF’s Climate Resilient Coasts and Watersheds program; and Amy Wold, the director of communications at The Water Institute of the Gulf.


CRCL began giving Stewardship Awards in the mid-1990s; previous winners are listed online. Tickets for the Stewardship Awards event are on sale. Sponsorships are available.


To learn more about the Coalition to Restore Coastal Louisiana, visit the organization’s website.


The Coalition to Restore Coastal Louisiana is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to unite people in action to achieve a thriving, sustainable Louisiana coast for all. Incorporated in 1988, CRCL represents a unique mix of businesses, local governments, industries, scientific communities, national and local conservation groups, hunters, anglers and a broad spectrum of concerned citizens who all share a common vision and commitment to the sustainability of coastal Louisiana.

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube